Analysis Of Kanpur Lok Sabha Constituency


Kanpur is a parliamentary constituency in Uttar Pradesh, India, and is open to all categories of voters. It comprises five legislative assembly seats, namely Govind Nagar, Sishamau, Arya Nagar, Kidwai Nagar, and Kanpur Cantt. As per the 2011 Census, the SC voters in Kanpur are approximately 166,392, which is around 10.2% of the total population. Similarly, the ST voters in the constituency are approximately 6,525, which is around 0.4% of the total population. According to the 2019 election data, there were around 19,36,426 voters in the constituency, with 8,72,757 female and 10,63,506 male voters. The constituency has an urban population only. In the previous elections, many eminent leaders such as Shri Sriprakash Jaiswal (OBC-Baniya), Shri Murli Manohar Joshi (Gen-Brahmin), Shri Satyadev Pachauri (Gen-Brahmin) have contested. The first election was conducted in 1952 and won by Shri Harihar Nath Shastri (Gen-Brahmin), INC candidate. This seat has been the traditional seat of the INC whereas the BJP penetrated its roots into this constituency in the late 1990s with the ‘Ram Janmabhoomi Aandolan’ in Uttar Pradesh. During the 1991 elections,  the BJP won the Kanpur Lok Sabha seat for the first time under the leadership of Shri Jagat Vir Singh Drona (Gen-Brahmin) not only did this but also made a hat trick after the elections of 1991, under the leadership of Shir. Jagat Vir Singh Drona (Gen-Brahmin), in the Kanpur constituency.

Shri Sriprakash Jaiswal (OBC-Baniya) of the Indian Nation Congress won this seat in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections whereas this seat was won by the Bhartiya Janta Party in the two consecutive elections of 2014 and 2019 under the flagship of  Shri  Murli Manohar Joshi (Gen-Brahmin) and  Shri Satyadev Pachauri (Gen-Brahmin) respectively.

In the Lok Sabha elections of 2014, it was led by Shri Murli Manohar Joshi (Gen-Brahmin), the BJP got 56.8% of the total voting share followed by the Indian National Congress with a voting share of 30.2% which was not enough to prove the majority in the Lok Sabha elections. The other parties like BSP and SP have a voting share of 6.4% and 3.1%  respectively. There were a few other parties like AAP led by Shri Mahmood Hussain Rehmani (Muslim) who were only able to get a 1.43% vote share. It can be evident from the above data that even a coalition was not able to win in the 2014 elections against the BJP. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP, led by Shri Satyadev Pachauri(Gen-Brahmin), again created a massive record by winning about 55.9% of the vote share but the voting share of the INC increased to 37.3%. The SP got the voting share of 5.7% whereas the BSP did not even field any candidate from this seat.

Click Here To Read The Detailed Analysis