Delhi North West Lok Sabha Constituency Analysis


North West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 7 Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in the year 2008 following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission constituted in 2002. Voting for the parliamentary seat was held here for the first time in 2009. Ten assembly constituencies including Kirari, Badli, Sultanpur Majra, Mangolpuri, Nangloi, Narela, Bawana, Rithala, Rohini, Mundka have been included in this parliamentary constituency. There are about 125 villages and more than two hundred unauthorized colonies in this area. There are also rehabilitation colonies like Mangolpuri, Sultanpuri, whose population is more than five lakh. The major markets here include the stone market of Mangolpur Kalan and the town market of Narela. Nangloi, Mangolpuri are also known for wholesale and retail markets. Avantika market also remains the center of attraction for the people. Bawana, Mundka, Narela are the major industrial areas in this area. This constituency is reserved for the candidates belonging to the Scheduled castes.

Caste Equation In The Lok Sabha

North West is the largest Lok Sabha seat in the national capital Delhi. This seat is dominated by Dalit voters the most. Its largest part is connected to Haryana. Here the Jat population also affects the results. North West Delhi seat has about 23 percent SC, 12.5 percent Jat, 9 percent Brahmin, 10 percent Vaishya, 5 percent Muslim, 3.5 percent Yadav and 1.5 percent Rajput voters. The literacy rate in the North West Delhi Lok Sabha seat is more than 84 percent. There are 12,12,516 male and 9,81,633 female voters here. 194 voters are of other or third gender. Whereas in the year 2014, 13, 56, 036 had used their votes. A total of 61.81% of voters voted in this.

If we look at the regional community based population, the percentage share in North West Delhi are as follows :-Purvanchali  are 12%, Punjabi/ Sikh community  are 6.5% , Muslims are 7.2% , Buddhists account for 0.13% , Christian 0.6%,  Jain 0.9% and others 17% of the population.

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results

Hans Raj Hans (Valmiki) secured a resounding win by garnering a substantial 848,630 votes. The runner-up was Gugan Singh Ranga, representing the Aam Aadmi Party who got 294766 votes, showcasing the strong presence and support base of the Aam Aadmi Party in the region. The margin of victory was 5,53,075 votes.The vote share for Hans Raj Hans stood at an impressive 60.48 per cent while  Gugan Singh, despite his commendable performance, secured 21.01 per cent of the total votes. 

This electoral triumph for Hans Raj Hans and the Bharatiya Janata Party consolidated their political standing in North West Delhi, further shaping the political landscape of the region. The victory impacted political developments and dynamics within North West Delhi and beyond. This was a triangular contest between BJP, AAP and INC so the votes were shared. BJP consolidated votes from Purvanchali, Brahmin and Baniya votes. The INC candidate consolidated the Muslim votes. The Dalit and the Jat community votes got split into the three parties. The Modi wave and the popularity of Hans Raj Hans helped the BJP to win this seat with a considerable margin.

A few weeks before the Assembly elections in the national capital, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Lok Sabha candidate from North-west Delhi Gugan Singh  returned to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) along with his supporters in the presence of Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari and union minister and in-charge of the city unit for the polls Prakash Javadekar. (December 2019) Singh, who contested on AAP ticket from the North West seat, lost to Punjabi Sufi singer Hans Raj Hans in the Lok Sabha elections held in 2019. 

2014 Lok Sabha Election Results

BJP candidate from North West Delhi constituency Udit Raj today defeated his nearest rival Rakhi Birla of Aam Aadmi Party by a margin of 1.06 lakh votes. Raj, who had joined BJP just a few months before the elections, polled 6,29,860 votes against Birla’s 5,23,058. Rakhi is MLA from Mangolpuri. Union Minister and Congress’ sitting MP Krishna Tirath polled 1,57,468 votes while BSP’s Basant Panwar got 21,485 votes. In the Delhi assembly polls in December, BJP had won five assembly seats that come under the constituency, followed by two each by AAP and Congress and one by an Independent. The Congress’ poor showing in the city continued as its seven MPs, including two Union Ministers, were relegated to third position in their constituencies as AAP occupied second position in all seats. The margin of victory was 1,04,687 votes.

Current Political Situation In North West Delhi Lok Sabha

Riding on the strength of an alliance, both the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Congress in Delhi will aim to upset the BJP applecart in the seven Lok Sabha seats in the national capital. Lok Sabha elections in Delhi will be held in the sixth and penultimate phase on May 25, the Election Commission announced on Saturday. In 2019, the BJP candidates won all seven seats and the votes polled by them were more than the combined tallies of the Congress and AAP candidates. However, this time, the Congress and AAP plan to throw a spanner in the BJP’s works.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded Shri Yogender Chandolia as its candidate from the North West Delhi constituency for the upcoming Lok Sabha Elections. Shri Yogender Chandolia is a well-known name in Delhi BJP. He has been the Chairman of the Standing Committee in Delhi Municipal Corporation. He has also been mayor in Northern Corporation. He was also a Municipal Councilor for Dev Nagar, Karol Bagh Zone, Delhi.He has been active in politics since his college days and has been elected as the Municipal Councillor several times.He was the first from the Regar community to make it to the post of Chairman of the Standing Committee, MCD, and the first politician from Karol Bagh to make a hat-trick in the election.

The BJP is eyeing a clean sweep for the third time in a row and will bank on the Modi factor besides the party’s core poll issues like construction of Ram temple in Ayodhya, CAA implementation and Article 370 abrogation. As part of its seat-sharing arrangements with the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in Delhi, the Congress is contesting from the Chandni Chowk, North East and North West Delhi seats. INC has selected  former MP Udit Raj and former Delhi minister Raj Kumar Chauhan as their probable candidates from North West Delhi.  12 out of the 13 MLAs are from AAP and only one MLA is from BJP (Rohini) so this might make it difficult to gain more votes for BJP. This alliance aims to consolidate opposition votes and present a formidable challenge to the BJP.

However after the arrest of Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal in Alleged liquor scam case and currently he is running the government from jail, it will be interesting to see how AAP will fight these elections. AAP is already under the ED radar and its Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Singh, former minister Manish Sisodia, former minister Satyendra Jain are already in jail. So they will try to create a sympathy wave among the people for AAP in turn favoring the votes towards this alliance. This factor along with having 12 MLAs might favor this alliance but on the other hand BJP will strongly use this liquor scam to gain trust and to maximize their vote share against both the parties. We can still say there would be an edge for the alliance of AAP- INC for the North West constituency over BJP but we can still see some unexpected results as in politics anything can happen.

Click Here To Download The PDF

Author: Jainam Shah